Holiday stockings – More than Minorly Obsessed

I know, it’s only October but I’ve been working on this project for months and I’m proud to say, I’m 2/3 of the day done. My obsession (since childhood) are these adorable, old fashioned sockings that my Nonnie (Italian for grandmother) used to make before she lost her vision.

A couple of years ago, I decided to carry on the tradition by making one for myself (still a work in progress), one for each of my very best friends and one for each of my three nieces and my nephew. These are pretty big projects and they take 40-50 hours (if not more than that) to complete but I enjoy the sense of accomplishment I feel after completing a stocking.

Tonight, I finished another stocking for one of my nieces and I’ll give it to her for her birthday next month (shh! don’t tell anyone!).

While they take a significant amount of patience to complete, the great thing about these stocking kits is that they come with everything you need but I had to buy some extra sequins for the tree (notice the extra cool sequins on it – it’s a pretty bad picture but I love the overall look). You can get them at almost any craft store or look online at the collections from Bucilla or Dimensions. I’d love to know where I can buy these in NYC now. I’ve been looking for weeks but they don’t seem to be showing up at any of the stores in my ‘hood.

2 responses to “Holiday stockings – More than Minorly Obsessed

  1. OMG! I have one of these that my grandmother (rest her soul) made me when I was very young. I still have it, and it’s falling apart! Great idea!

    • I got the idea from my Grandma too (we called her Nonnie). If we remember, show it to me at some point and I can probably help you repair it. I’m getting pretty good at these. My niece, Caroline, has hers now and I’m working on another set for the twins so they should have them this holiday season. Great heirloom pieces.

Leave a Reply

