Going local for organic produce

CSAVeggies-WeekOne, originally uploaded by MinorlyObsessed.

For years, I’ve been a big fan of organic, locally grown produce. As a frequent shopper at the NYC green markets, I wanted to find a way to get the best quality local produce at a space closer to home.

So, after a few years of trying to get into a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture), I joined the Tuv Ha’Aretz-Forest Hills Jewish Center CSA. After plunking down a hefty down payment, I’ll be receiving fresh fruit, veggies, grains, beans and flour for the next 26 weeks.

This Tuesday, I received the first delivery, which included:
–Red Boston Lettuce (never head this type before!)
–Green Boston Lettuce (biggest I’ve ever seen – about a foot in diameter and it barely fit into the bag)
–Spinach (awesome to sautee with a little garlic and olive oil)
–Baby Arugula (yum – salads!)
–Breakfast Radishes (I traded these for extra Rhubarb – love Rhubarb!)
–Baby Japanese Salad Turnips (never had this before – it’s new to me and tastes a bit like a radish)
–Rhubarb (two bunches for me with my breakfast radish trade)
–Strawberries (one large and one small box)

I’m trying to figure out what to do with all the rhubarb and I think I’m going to try to make strawberry rhubarb jam – it’s my favorite jam of all time but I’ve never made jam before.

Suggestions are welcome ….

2 responses to “Going local for organic produce

  1. Sounds like a great delivery. Nothing speaks of summer more than rhubarb and strawberries – enjoy.

Leave a Reply

