Kale Smoothies (no, really, they’re delicious)

DeliciousKaleSmoothie, originally uploaded by MinorlyObsessed.

Last year, I joined a CSA in my neighborhood to get fresh, local, organic veggies, fruits and more. I’ve learned a lot about food but the biggest thing was that I found out that I don’t hate Kale — but mostly if and only if it’s in a smoothie.

Now, I know you’re thinking that a kale smoothie sounds vile. It does. It looks a little vile too. And then you taste it and it tastes mostly like apples (because it’s made with an entire apple). And, it’s insanely good for you. A great breakfast food. A great snack. And I bet it would be good with some protein powder thrown in to make it a full meal.

Inspired by a recipe on Real Simple, here’s my version.

Kale Smoothie

  • 1 Apple – cored (just cut in quarters and remove the core); can also use 1 cup of apple juice but the real apple adds more texture
  • 5 – 7 Kale leaves – remove the tough center stem (either cut it out or cheat like me and just fold it in half along the steamline and tear the leaves off); I’ve also used swiss chard but find that kale tastes better
  • 1 piece of celery (one of those large pieces from the outside of the bunch; or two small ones); I’ve substituted cucumber for the celery  – just peel it first
  • 1 banana – peeled (of course)
  • 1/2 lemon – juiced (essential – adds a bit of tartness)
  • 1 to 2 cups of water — a little more if it’s not blending well
  • 6-7 pieces of Ice (more if you want it super cold)

Put all ingredients into a blender. Cut celery (or break it in half) if it doesn’t fit into the blender properly. Blend* for a bit until it looks like the picture. Then pour into glasses. Makes about four cups or two good sizes smoothies.

I made this for Colin (my sis in law’s bro – does that make him my bother in law?) the other week and he was obsessed with it too. Wanted more but I was out of kale. So we went to a BBQ instead.

*So blending is a bit of an art with this one if you don’t have a super fancy blender, which I don’t. Basically, I pulse the “chop” setting a bunch of times until the ingredients start moving around. Then I run the blender on the highest setting (ice crush on mine) for about 2 minutes until it looks mostly uniformly green. I like this recipe because you don’t peel the apple and you get little flecks of red in the smoothie, which I find slightly charming.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

